top of page

DINOSAURS, KING KOBRA, AND ALIENS the JK Northrup Interview

ROCK WARS WORLDWIDE- Where did you grow up?


JK-I was born in Sacramento CA, but my family moved shortly after I was born.  I grew up for the most part in very small towns in Northern California such as Alturas, Burney, both population 4000 then Redding population 50,000.  I was living in Redding when I got the gig touring as lead guitarist for Billy Thorpe of "Children of the Sun" fame.  I moved back to Sacramento in 1983 and have spent all of my time between L.A. and Sac since.


ROCK WARS WORLDWIDE- I have a two year old son who is obsessed with dinosaurs. I understand this is an interest you share as well. Can you tell us a bit about your love of dinosaurs?


JK-Lol, I could spend this entire interview just talking about Dinosaurs!  When I was 5, my brother brought home a book about Dinos.  I was hooked at that moment!  As soon as I began school, I would read every book I could get my hands on.  Through the years I began reading books written by Paleontologists and studied everything about them.  In 2003, one of my closest friends purchased land in Montana just 30 miles from the Hellcreek Formation which I new all about from books and documentaries.  This is where you find T-Rex, Triceratops and many Dinos unique to that region.  Knowing several people who owned private land, I was able to begin my first expedition finding Dino bones!!  Now I have a nice collection.  It is like a religious, or spiritual experience to me.  My drug.


ROCK WARS WORLDWIDE- How old were you when you discovered your love of music?


JK-I was about 6 when my older brothers got a Monkeys album, which I loved, but I was listening to Johnny Cash at age 3 singing "Ring of Fire", one of my childhood faves.  Then my brothers started buying everything from Led Zeppelin to Carol King.  There were so many amazing songwriters and players coming out of the 60's into the 70's.  I was taught by my Mom and a couple friends how to play basic chords, but in 1973 bam!  Kiss and Montrose came out.  That was where it all really began for me to learn how to play.  I am 100% self taught, so I starting learning the scales, or patterns of Ace and Ronnie.  Then...EVH comes along in 1978 and things progressed from there.


ROCK WARS WORLDWIDE- Did you play in garage bands in high school? If so what was the name of your first garage band? Can you tell us about the experience?


JK- My first garage band was called Sweet Leaf around 1975.  I had a knock off SG and a small amp.  The drummer had a kick, snare, 1 cymbal and a hi-hat.  The bass player didn't actually have a bass lol.  My first real band was started in 1976 when I met my long time friend and drummer, Glenn Hicks.  Our band was called Premier.  We played all around Redding until 1982 when I was picked up by Billy Thorpe.


ROCK WARS WORLDWIDE- You have worked with so many legendary artists. Is there an that you haven't worked with yet that you want to?


JK- Oh hellyea!!!  Ever since I heard the album Deep Purple "Burn",  I have always been blown away by both David Coverdale and Glenn Hughes!!  My dream team singers.  Let's throw in Bob Plant as well.  Truly there are too many to name that I haven't gotten to work with, but I'm so grateful for all of the amazing talents that I have!!!


ROCK WARS WORLDWIDE- I was a fan of King Kobra and XYZ back in the 80's and 90's. What is you favorite memory of each band?


JK- My fave memories recording the KK III album were, 1- having Bernie Taupen at one of the studios sitting in the back of the engineering room while I was tracking my solo to the song I wrote called "Walls Of Silence".  2- was recording part of the album at Pasha Recording Studio, which is where I did my first real recording session with Billy Thorpe.  Side note- part of the Back On Track album with Paul Shortino was recorded at Pasha as well and is where we both met.  XYZ was a blast.  I met Terry Ilous in 1993 just after I first move to L.A.  We started writing and recording songs which was released as "Cage" in Japan, France and The USA.  We started recording the XYZ "Letter To God" album in 2002 along with original drummer Paul Monroe and bass player Sean McNabb.  We also brought Vinnie Appice to do a couple tracks as well.  All of those sessions were amazing!


ROCK WARS WORLDWIDE- You've worked with both Carmine and Vinny Appice both legends in their own right. What was that like? Do you still talk to them?


JK-I recorded with Carmine first in 1988 for the KK III album, then he recorded a couple songs on the Back On Track album, then on the Cage album.  Vinnie I first met while recording Cage.  He played on the song "Here and Gone" from that album along with Tony Franklin on bass.  Vinnie blew my mind!!  Carmine and Vinnie are both legends and I am honored to have been a part of their journey's.  I have only been in contact with either through facebook over the last 15 years or so.


ROCK WARS WORLDWIDE- What is the craziest thing that has happened when you were on the road?


JK- One that I never forget is while on tour with Billy Thorpe in Australia, we were hangin with Phil Rudd from AC/DC.  We all went out in his yacht in Melbourne.  While still docked in the harbor, Thorpe decides to jump in for a swim and Phil took off for a laugh.  Unfortunately he went a bit far and we almost didn't make it back in time.  Kinda scary!  He made it up by taking us all out for some Lobster dinner that night :)


ROCK WARS WORLDWIDE- Of all the places you have toured what was you favorite?


JK- Pretty much everywhere I toured was a blast, but Australia, then Japan were incredible!


ROCK WARS WORLDWIDE- How did you get into production and engineering?


JK- I started learning recording and production in my early 20's with a 4 track cassette player.  I pretty much taught myself how to use it and started overdubbing etc.  From there I recorded at some real studios and was always hands on with the engineer learning.  I was producing and recording local bands around Redding, then started to expand.  By the 1990's I was getting really good at it and of course now am recording, mixing and mastering for many artists around the world.


ROCK WARS WORLDWIDE- Can you tell us about Alien Productions? Why did you start the company? Is there anything getting ready to drop? etc.


JK- I started Alien Productions Music Studio in 2005 here in Sacramento and began working with some local acts, but quickly bagan bringing in more established artists such as Ted Poley and Terry Ilous.  I moved to the facility I am currently in 2007 and continue working with artists globally!  I began the company out of the love of producing and the art of creating music.  It also brings in a decent income other than relying on music sales and touring.  There are many things I am currently working on getting ready to drop, but still in production. 


ROCK WARS WORLDWIDE- Do you prefer playing or producing?


JK- These days I would have to say I enjoy the producing side, but I still love playing and recording.  It is so gratifying to do both.


ROCK WARS WORLDWIDE- Can you tell us a little about your projects Mood Groove and Fiction Syxx?


JK- The Mood Groove was started by me and my dear friend Ed Balldinger around 1997.  It was simply a jam band at the time.  Literally putting 2 mics in the room and ad-libbing everything.  Later, we started putting more time and thought into the songs and brought in some amazing singers like Ted Poley, Randy Scoles and Paul Holdgate, both of them had been the singer for Ronnie Montrose.  Then we brought in Larry Hart formerly of Montrose and my band called Northrup.  Larry was on the KK III album as well.  Drummer and singer Glenn Hicks, my childhood buddy was brought in and we started writing and recording some really different bad ass music in the off the wall vein of Frank Zappa, but with influences from so many artists.  It's eclectic music for sure, but so much fun.  Not trying to write the next hit song, just having fun making music that is different! 

I started working with Mark Allen Lanoue on the first Fiction Syxx album 3 or 4 years ago.  At first, I was only mixing and mastering, then as it went along I started adding guitars and producing along with Mark.  Rory Faciane on drums, Tony Franklin on bass and Eric Ragno on Keyboards.  Great line up and great album!  By the time we began working on the second album, I was more hands on, playing half of the guitars and trading solos with Mark and getting even more involved in the production.  I also mixed and mastered both albums.  Larry Hart replaced Tony Franklin on the second album and we are currently beginning the 3rd one now with the same line up as 2.  It's very melodic with a touch of progressive.  Heavy shit man!


ROCK WARS WORLDWIDE- What was your most touching interaction with a fan?


JK- Well that could be an interesting answer lol!  I guess one of the sweetest things was a young, very shy girl came to most of the shows in Australia around the Sydney area.  She would give one of the stage crew a gift to give to me, which I thought was very sweet.  After several shows she got the nerve to ask for my autograph and take a few pictures together.  I gave her a pick and she was so happy!  I gave her a hug and she fainted.  That was a great and sweet memory :)


ROCK WARS WORLDWIDE- There is no doubt that the music industry is in a very challenging time right now. Artists are having a much more difficult time making a living because of the streaming economy we have found ourselves in. If you could change something about the music industry right now what would it be?


JK- That is too easy!  Downloads in the digital era.  I would go back in time and shoot (not literally) the people that started that platform.  If the food, or any other industry i.e. McDonalds were some how digitized to where you could simply download a free burger for example, they would either go out of business, or their sales would plummet the same as the music industry.  It sickens me to think about it.


ROCK WARS WORLDWIDE- You've played major arenas that most people never get the chance to. Have you ever been on stage and thought this can't be real?


JK- Only the first show with Billy Thorpe in Amarillo Texas where we opened for Cheap Trick.  My biggest show before that was about 1500 people.  That night was 12-15,000.  Blew my mind!


ROCK WARS WORLDWIDE- Have ever been star struck?


JK- Interestingly enough, not really!  Although to be in the presence of some of the elite can be a little daunting!


ROCK WARS WORLDWIDE- Have you ever turned down a project and later wish you hadn't?


JK- Well yes in a way.  The bassist that also toured with Billy Thorpe was Bruce Turgon (Lou Gramm, Foreigner, Steve Stevens).  Bruce and I started a band after the tour called White lies.  As amazingly talented as Bruce is as a songwriter and performer, I didn't want to play his music and quit the band.  Although he and the manager asked me back, I wanted to do my thing!  Shortly after that, Bruce joins up with Lou Gramm and took the guitarist that replaced me to play on the album with Lou.  I would've been that guitar player had I not left.  Oh well.....


ROCK WARS WORLDWIDE- Will there be another Shortino/Northrup album?


JK-  Paul and I still keep in touch and have done some work together producing and writing for others.  We have recently discussed doing another album, but timing has been the issue.  Perhaps someday soon, that would be great!


ROCK WARS WORLDWIDE- What has been your favorite project to work on to date?


JK- That is way too hard!!!  I've not done an album that I regret.  However I must say the one project that had the most potential was "Northrup" with Johnny Edwards on vocals!!  Larry Hart on bass and Glenn Hicks on drums.  We had Atlantic, Geffen, MCA and many other labels vying for us.  Bad management prevented us from grabbing that brass ring and we broke up.  Johnny went on to Foreigner and I started writing for what became the Back On Track album with Paul, which Larry and Glenn both appeared as well.  I love working with the many bands and artists I am currently working with which is my new fave.  Just writing and producing new music can be my new fave :)


ROCK WARS WORLDWIDE- Any regrets?


JK- I can honestly "No Regrets"!  Except not finishing high school, that's about it.









73 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page